Durante la convention virtuale, svoltasi dal 29 ottobre all’1 novembre, sono stati annunciati i vincitori del World Fantasy Awards per le migliori opere fantastiche pubblicate nel corso del 2019.

Di seguito la lista di tutti i vincitori:

Best Novel

Vincitore: Queen of the Conquered, Kacen Callender (Orbit US)

Gli altri nominati:

The Ten Thousand Doors of January, Alix E. Harrow (Redhook; Orbit UK)

The Raven Tower, Ann Leckie (Orbit US & UK)

Gideon the Ninth, Tamsyn Muir (Tor.com Publishing)

The Memory Police, Yoko Ogawa (Pantheon; Harvill Secker)

Best Novella

Vincitore: Silver in the Wood, Emily Tesh (Tor.com Publishing)

Gli altri nominati:

The Butcher’s Table, Nathan Ballingrud (Wounds)

Desdemona and the Deep, C.S.E. Cooney (Tor.com Publishing)

In an Absent Dream, Seanan McGuire (Tor.com Publishing)

The Deep, Rivers Solomon con Daveed Diggs, William Hutson & Jonathan Snipes (Saga)

Best Short Fiction

Vincitore: Read After Burning, Maria Dahvana Headley (A People’s Future of the United States)

Gli altri nominati:

For He Can Creep, Siobhan Carroll (Tor.com 7/10/19)

The Blur in the Corner of Your Eye, Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny 7-8/19)

Blood Is Another Word for Hunger, Rivers Solomon (Tor.com 7/24/19)

Postlude to the Afternoon of a Faun, Jerome Stueart (F&SF 3-4/19)

Everyone Knows That They’re Dead. Do You?, Genevieve Valentine (The Outcast Hours)

Best Anthology

Vincitore: New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color, Nisi Shawl, ed. (Solaris US & UK)

Gli altri nominati:

Echoes: The Saga Anthology of Ghost Stories, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Saga)

The Outcast Hours, Mahvesh Murad & Jared Shurin, eds. (Solaris)

The Mythic Dream, Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe, eds. (Saga)

The Big Book of Classic Fantasy, Ann VanderMeer & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Vintage)

Best Collection

Vincitore: Song for the Unraveling of the World, Brian Evenson (Coffee House)

Gli altri nominati:

Homesick, Nino Cipri (Dzanc)

Unforeseen, Molly Gloss (Saga)

A Lush and Seething Hell, John Hornor Jacobs (Harper Voyager US)

Sooner or Later Everything Falls into the Sea, Sarah Pinsker (Small Beer)

Best Artist

Vincitore: Kathleen Jennings

Gli altri nominati:

Tommy Arnold

Galen Dara

Julie Dillon

Wendy Froud

Special Award – Professional

Vincitore: Ebony Elizabeth Thomas, per The Dark Fantastic: Race and the Imagination from Harry Potter to the Hunger Games (New York University Press)

Gli altri nominati:

C.C. Finlay, per F&SF 

Leslie Klinger, per The New Annotated H.P. Lovecraft: Beyond Arkham (Liveright)

Ellen Oh, per We Need Diverse Books

Sheree Renée Thomas, per il suo contributo al genere

Special Award – Non-Professional

Vincitore: Bodhisattva Chattopadhyay, Laura E. Goodin & Esko Suoranta, per Fafnir – Nordic Journal of Science Fiction and Fantasy Research

Gli altri nominati:

Michael Kelly, per Undertow Publications and The Year’s Best Weird Fiction series

Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe, per The Coode Street Podcast

Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, per Uncanny

Terri Windling, per Myth & Moor

Quest’anno la giuria era formata da Gwenda Bond, Galen Dara, Michael Kelly, Victor LaValle e Adam Roberts.